How Scent Eases Cold and Flu Symptoms

Lavendar flower

Lavendar flower (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

On Sunday night, it hit.  That scratchy lump feeling in the back of my throat.  Tiredness, achy muscles.  Was it a case of the Mondays coming a day early?  No, I knew that feeling.  I spend most of my weekdays with 24 nine year olds.  So, it was not my first cold of the season, nor would it be my last.  But, now I have the drill down.   I’m a firm believer in using scents to combat colds and flus.

My first line of defense is eucalyptus.  It is also the most famous essential oil used to treat symptoms of colds and flu.  The scent of eucalyptus is a popular pungent camphoraceous scent.  It contains antibacterial properties that make it a popular addition to natural cold remedies.  It is known to treat sore throat, fever, the flu, and clear mucus from the lungs.  Personally, it is the first scent I reach for when I begin to feel under the weather.  It’s clean bright smell feels mentally stimulating and decreases my sense of fatigue.

Other popular scents used to combat cold and flu symptoms include lavender, peppermint, rosemary, pine, and thyme. It is stated that the scent of lavender can help flu suffers get a good night sleep and boost the immune system’s natural defenses.   Peppermint is effective due to the active compounds in peppermint oil, including menthol.  The concentrated scent of peppermint or pine can act as an expectorant and ease some of the mucus build up in the respiratory system. Rosemary and thyme are both believed to strengthen and boost the immune system.

I’m not saying that these scents definitively cure colds and flu.  What I can say from personal experience is that these scents can make recovery a little more comfortable, a little more pleasant.  During this cold and flu season, will you try scents to combat your cold and flu symptoms?  If yes, is this new for you or are you, like me, a strong believer in the relationship between scent and our health?

Happy holidays,

Heather Stone

One thought on “How Scent Eases Cold and Flu Symptoms

  1. Pingback: I Have a Cold and I’m Sooo Happy! « A Voice From the Foothills

Leave a Reply

