Does it smell like November?

Hello everyone! I can’t believe that Thanksgiving is right around the corner. The days in November seems to be rolling by faster than I realize (probably for you too). I’ve notice Christmas decorations are already being put up in retail stores and houses all around the Silicon Valley.

I started to notice that in November stores are starting to smell a bit different. When I was strolling through the mall, I instantlynotice that stores started to have a holiday smell. Instead of some retail stores smelling like vanilla (the scent of vanilla helps customers feel at home and feel more comfortable in the environment they’re in), stores are starting to smell like cinnamon and pumpkin pie, maybe because Thanksgiving and Christmas is coming up so quick.

My mother and I was walking through the mall and as we was passed by a home furnishing store, a big gust of wind hit us and we can smell the strong scent of cinnamon; usually as I pass by retail stores it smells like vanilla. The store was decorated in a Thanksgiving theme: orange and yellow streamers hung all over, pumpkins scattered all over the store, and paper turkeys gobbling on the floor. Because the scent reminded her of Thanksgiving, she wanted to shop for decorations. As we were walking around the store, I felt as if my mom was in story telling mode. She kept talking about past Thanksgiving and Christmas holidays and what she wanted to do this year. I guess the smell of cinnamon reminded her of past Thanksgiving holidays we’ve spent with the family. Cinnamon overall is a great smell and will probably trigger a happy memory for you. When I smell cinnamon it reminds me of Christmas day and how I get to spend time with my loving family for the holidays.

This made me realized how valuable scent marketing is and how it can be integrated in different situations, like the holidays. Christmas is coming up and I wouldn’t be surprised if stores started to smell like peppermint or hot chocolate.

So next time you take a stroll through the mall, take the time and smell each store. Does it smell different? Does the scent of the store remind you of a holiday? Does the holiday scent trigger old memories for you? I would love to hear from you!

 

 

 

By: Tin Dao

One thought on “Does it smell like November?

  1. Pingback: Animation Monday: Thanksgiving Cartoons | Geek Alabama

Leave a Reply

